Grand Design – V

Grand Design – V

Label: GMR Music

Release date: out now


“11 songs on the album, packed with mind-haunting choruses, jaw-dropping guitar workand a larger than life production“ – that‘s what the info sheet says. All of this is damn right and I could close this review fast and easy. But there is surely is more to say about Swedish rockers GRAND DESIGN and their simply “V“ titled effort. Mastermind Pelle Saether (v) has no  problem in putting a bunch of songs together breathing the 80s melodic rock sound in each and every note. DEF LEPPARD would kill if they were still able to write songs of the class of “Shame On U“, “Strandad (Trapped In A Heartbreak Zone)“ or the fantastic opener “Right Away“. I have to confess I am a huge fan of Pelle & his guys since “Time Elevation“, their extremely hard to find debut via AOR/Metal Heaven (2009).  Can‘t say “V“ is better than all of its predecessors but it‘s another high quality effort with a cover of the 80s smash hit “The Warrior“, originally released by SCANDAL featuring PATTY SMYTH.  So “Wut Are U Waiting For“ – get this damn CD! 


Andreas Höhn

Track List: 

1. Right Away 

2. I Won’t Cry Over U Tonite 

3. Strandead (Trapped In A Heartbreak Zone) 

4. Wut Are U Waiting For 

5. Shame On U 

6. Walkin’ The Wire 

7. Gimmie The Fire 

8. Take Me To Yer Heaven 

9. I Dunno Wut To Say 

10. The Warrior 

11. Guilty Of Luv In The 1st Degree 

Author: Andreas Höhn

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *