Gathering Of Kings – Discovery

Gathering Of Kings – Discovery

Label: RN Records

Release date: out now


“Discovery“, the highly anticipated second album of the Swedish Allstar Melodic Rock Project, easily manages to meet expectations. It’s a brilliant hybrid of bands like ECLIPSE or H.E.A.T. and BOSTON and MAGNUM. Using different vocalists – like in AVANTASIA – works perfectly. Songs like “Lorelei“, “Heaven On The Run“ or “Moonlight“ will leave you speechless. The fact that the songs are basically written by Victor Olsson (g, SAFFIRE) works very positively in terms of tightness of the material. The production is powerful but warm, reminiscent of the good old days. Vocalists Rick Altzi (MASTERPLAN), Apollo Papathanasio (ex FIREWIND, SPIRITUAL BEGGARS) or Alexander Friesborg among others do a great job, adding different flavors to the songs. Everybody involved is Swedish which makes GATHERING OF KINGS special, too. Definitely one of the hottest contenders for „record of the year“. Just listen to “Lorelei“ with its mighty chorus or the hook-driven “Kiss From Above“, which has been a single already. “From A Whisper To A Scream“, one of the slightly harder tracks is going to be a live standard for sure, too. And then there is “December“, a song that is ear-candy of the finest sort. “The One That Got Away“ is a great ballad with a little eye-twinkling quote from THE EAGLES. No weak spot here musically or production-wise – and then there is the amazingly beautiful artwork, one of the best in a long time. Absolutely well done, guys! 

9 /10

Martin Stark

Track List: 

1. Starsleeper 1:08

2. Riders Of The Light 4:14

3. Heaven On The Run 4:23

4. December 4:31

5. Highway To Paradise 4:31

6. The One That Got Away 5:17

7. Lorelei 4:43

8. Moonlight 4:12

9. Revelation 4:05

10. Kiss From Above 4:52

11. From A Whisper To A Scream 4:39

12. Final Hour 6:30

Author: Martin Stark

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *