Royal Hunt – Dystopia

Album: Royal Hunt – Dystopia

Label: North Point Productions

Release date: December 18th, 2020


Denmark’s finest Hard Rock/ Progressive Melodic Metal band ROYAL HUNT returns with a new concept album called “Dystopia”. And what a highlight this is! The band around mastermind & keyboardist André Andersen and singer DC Cooper undoubtfully has added another exceptional release to the band’s 31 years spanning career which has already brought us so much beautiful music. “Dystopia”, similar to other Metal operas like Avantasia and Ayreon, showcases the performances by a whole bunch of great guest vocalists including Mats Leven (Candlemass), Mark Boals (Ring Of Fire, Yngwie Malmsteen), Henrik Brockmann (Royal Hunt, Evil Masquerade) and Kenny Lubcke (Narita).

Andersen’s majestic keyboards still are in the lead of course and maybe surrounded by even more bombastic, orchestrated and cinematic sounds than ever before. Highllights include the pompous, epic track “The Art Of Dying”, the theatrical ballad “I Used To Walk Alone” and the majestic tune “Black Butterflies”. Close to perfection by all means and one of the top epic Metal releases in the year 2020!

The album can be ordered in different CD & vinyl formats from the band’s website including a ltd. edition which comes with a DVD as bonus here:


Birgitt Schwanke

Track list:

  1. F451
  2. Burn
  3. The Art Of Dying
  4. I Used To Walk Alone
  5. The Eye Of Oblivion
  6. Hound Of The Damned
  7. The Missing Page (Intermission I)
  8. Black Butterflies
  9. Snake Eyes
  10. Midway (Intermission II)
Royal Hunt – The Art Of Dying (Lyric Video)

Author: Birgitt Schwanke

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *