MSG (Michael Schenker Group) – Immortal

MSG (Michael Schenker Group) – Immortal

Label: Nuclear Blast

Release date: January 29th, 2021


Today’s the release date of MSG’s new album “Immortal”, an album which is entitled to celebrate MICHAEL SCHENKER’s 50th (!) anniversary as musician. As on the previous releases, the extraordinary guitarist again has worked with various singers, i.e. Ralf Scheepers (PRIMAL FEAR), Ronnie Romero (LORDS OF THE BLACK, RAINBOW), Joe Lynn Turner (ex RAINBOW) and buddy Michael Voss (ex MAD MAX) who also produced the album together with the axeman himself. They’re backed up by three top class drummers (Brian Tichy, Bodo Schopf & Simon Philipps) plus Barry Sparks (DOKKEN) and Steve Mann (LIONHEART) on keys.

Overall, “Immortal” shines with a high class performance and a very good, punchy production but what I miss a bit here is the “band feeling” which, despite of the same concept, still was present on the previous albums on the one hand, and a bit of a more “guitar hero orientated attitude” on the other hand. Some tunes, especially the material sung by the great Ralf Scheepers rather come along as Power Metal tracks than as typical SCHENKER tunes. SCHENKER himself really shines in my opinion the most when the focus in the arrangements lies more on his brilliant, unique guitar work rather than on Power Metal typed double bass drumming. The Michael Voss sung ballad “After The Rain” definitely, in this respect, marks a real highlight here.

To sum it up: maybe, the expectations on this album were set a bit too high as the line-up promised even more. Overall this still is a very good release which though, in my personal opinion, does not belong to the top 5 releases of SCHENKER’s solo career as it’s focus could have been put a bit more onto his guitar performance.


Birgitt Schwanke

Track listing

1. Drilled To Kill 4:32

2. Don’t Die On Me Now 4:53

3. Knight Of The Dead 4:05

4. After The Rain 4:27

5. Devil’s Daughter 4:20

6. Sail The Darkness 3:38

7. The Queen Of Thorns And Roses 4:03

8. Come On Over 4:20

9. Sangria Morte 4:17

10. In Search Of The Peace Of Mind 6:27

MSG – In Search Of The Peace Of Mind (Official Video)

Author: Birgitt Schwanke

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *