Joel Hoekstra’s 13 – Running Games

Joel Hoekstra’s 13 – Running Games

Label: Frontiers Music

Release date: February 12th, 2021


“Running Game” is the second solo album from current WHITESNAKE and TSO guitarist Joel Hoekstra and his band 13. Singer Russell Allen is a perfect match for the tunes here as his raspy voice suits the compositions very well which somehow turn out to be the strongest when they sail into WHITESNAKE’s shores. Melodic Hard Rock with a slightly bluesy edge with a lot of strong melodies (“I’m Gonna Lose It”), pumping grooves “”Hard To Day Goodbye” and grounded riffs (“Fantasy”).

Overall, “Running Game” is an album which grows with every listen and certainly is a deadringer for any fan of American typed late 80’s Hard Rock. JOEL HOEKSTRA’S 13 also rather comes along as band effort than as an egoistic solo trip. Tony Franklin (bass), Vinny Appice (drums), and Derek Sherinian (keyboards) complete the line-up; Jeff Scott Soto is being heard on backing vocals. One of the better releases from this genre lately!


Birgitt Schwanke

Track list:

  1. Finish Line
  2. I’m Gonna Lose It
  3. Hard To Say Goodbye
  4. How Do You
  5. Heart Attack
  6. Fantasy
  7. Lonely Days
  8. Reach The Sky
  9. Cried Enough For You
  10. Take What’s Mine
  11. Running Game
  12. Lay Down Your Love (digital bonus track)
Joel Hoekstra’s 13 – Finish Line (Official Video)

Author: Birgitt Schwanke

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *